Committees

Conference Committees

Conference Chair

Coordinates and plans all aspects of the IFLTA Fall Conference

Amanda Ramirez
Japanese Teacher
Avon High School

conferencechair@iflta.org

Exhibits

Coordinates conference exhibitors and exhibit space

John Streiff
Latin Teacher
Cathedral High School

jstreiff@gocathedral.com

Raffles

Coordinates the luncheon and exhibitor raffle

Ricky Baron
Consulate General of Canada in Chicago

jrmbaron630@gmail.com

Creative Projects Contest

Coordinates student project contest at the IFLTA Fall Conference

Kathy Darnell Steve Ohlhaut
French Teacher French Teacher
Cathedral High School West Lafayette Jr./Sr. H.S.

kdarnell@gocathedral.com ohlhauts@wl.k12.in.us

Creative Poster Contest

Coordinates the student poster contest at the IFLTA Fall Conference

Paul Coats
Lecturer
Indiana University
Department of Spanish and Portuguese

pjcoats@indiana.edu

Teacher of the Year

Solicits nominations from constituent organizations, communicates with nominees, and handles portfolios and evaluation process

Shalimar Manwani
Spanish Teacher
Frankfort High School

toy@iflta.org

Other Committees

Advocacy

Works with local, state, and national organizations to promote world language teaching and learning

Megan Worcester
Spanish Teacher
Union County College Corner

secretary@iflta.org

Awards

Solicits and evaluates nominations for IFLTA, Central States, and ACTFL awards

Israel Herrera
Senior Lecturer and Outreach Coordinator
Indiana University
Department of Spanish and Portuguese

herrerai@indiana.edu

Grants & Scholarships

Solicits, evaluates, and presents applications for IFLTA grants and scholarships to the Executive Board

Sibel Ariogul Crum
School of Global and International Studies Lecturer, Central Eurasian Studies
Indiana University

sariogul@indiana.edu

Newsletter

Solicits, edits, and disperses a biannual e-newsletter

Kailey S. Preston
Graduate Program
Purdue University

kpresto@purdue.edu

Social Media Manager

Works with the Executive Board to promote IFLTA on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube

Seeking a colleague!

Pre-Service Educators and Mentoring

Fosters connections between new and experienced educators and coordinates the new teacher workshop for the IFLTA Fall Conference

Angelika Becker
German Teacher
Carmel High School


abecker@ccs.k12.in.us

Outreach and Membership

Engages with current membership for feedback and works to promote and expand membership

Nicci Carney
Spanish Teacher
Eastwood Middle School

ncarney310@gmail.com

Research and Publications

Solicits research and publication to be endorsed by IFLTA

Marta Anton
Interim Associate Dean for Academic Programs
Spanish Professor
IUPUI

manton@iupui.edu

Professional Development

Plans and coordinates all aspects of IFLTA Spring Conference and webinars

Israel Herrera
Senior Lecturer and Outreach Coordinator
Indiana University
Department of Spanish and Portuguese

herrerai@indiana.edu

Dual-Language Immersion and Heritage Language

Promotes and supports DLI programs and communicates with the IDOE

Vesna Dimitrieska
Coordinator, Global Education Initiatives
Indiana University

vdimitri@indiana.edu

Elections

Conducts and certifies IFLTA Executive Board elections

Troy Byler
Director, Advance College Project (ACP)
Indiana University

tbyler@indiana.edu

Less Commonly Taught Languages

Encourages and promotes the visibility and active participation and conference presentations of Less Commonly Taught Language teachers at IFLTA conferences. ​

Sibel Ariogul Crum
School of Global and International Studies Lecturer, Central Eurasian Studies
Indiana University

sariogul@indiana.edu

Website Manager

Maintains and updates the IFLTA website

Megan Beckman
Latin Teacher
Homestead High School

webmanager@iflta.org